6over60 Team Pic

6over60 Team Pic
6 Over 60 Team, from left to right, Darryl, Dale, Ed, Pat, Tom, Jim, Dave


We are a group of men ranging in age from 64 to 68 who are riding across America from Astoria Oregon to Portsmouth New Hampshire. We are riding as an individual challenge and to raise money for the Wounded Warrior Project. Planned departure is June 2013, arriving in New Hampshire 60 days later.
Team Members, from left to right: Dale, Darryl, Pat, Tom, Ed, and Jim.

Team Members

 Occupation:  For the last 13 years, I have worked in R.E. development with Prologis in a variety of capacities. Prior to that I was with CBRE, as a commercial R.E. broker for 16 years.
 Location Born in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Located to Southern California in 1956 and currently reside in Irvine, CA for the last 32 years.
 Introduction:  Age 64, makes me the junior member of this silver haired team. I have been married for 34 years to Dorothy and have 2 girls (Christine and Michelle) and one son (Paul). Christine is married to Scott, and they have blessed us with two granddaughters, Addie and Claire. My son-in-law's dad is Tom, a fellow rider on this adventure and great friend.
 Motivation: My interest in this adventure started a few years back when my son Paul and 3 of his friends started planning a similar trip. They forged ahead with their plans and kicked off their cross country trip in May, 2011 from our house in Irvine. I rode with them to the county line that day and really felt the urge to have a similar adventure. Their trip ended tragically with Bill Cranshaw's death in an automobile accident in Arkansas which causes a number of mixed emotions regarding our trip. I am grateful for the support I have from Dorothy  and family to do something a bit selfish and free spirited at this stage of my life and to have a group of friends I enjoy enough to consider such a trip.
 Military:  I have not served in the military; however my father, "the sarge", was an army veteran of WWII. I am  most appreciative of the sacrifice our military personnel make, and especially grateful to those who either paid the ultimate price or suffered injury defending our freedom. It is an honor to dedicate our trip to those individuals.


Occupation:  Retired after 43 years in computer software working in various management and software developer positions.
 Location: Raised in Connecticut, now living in Southern California.
 Introduction: 67 years old, blessed to be married 30 years to Linda. We have a daughter Beth, and son John. I also have a daughter Julie living on the east coast.
 Motivation:  I am thankful for the family support, and health to experience cycling across this nation. I look forward to this opportunity to bond with 6 men, enjoy the hospitality of individuals we meet, and raising money for those who have chosen to serve and protect us.
 Military:  I have never served in the military. I honor and respect those who have, and wish to help in some way. I have family and friends who have served, including a retired friend who recently returned from a tour in Iraq as well as a mentor of mine from Grace Brethren church of Seal Beach, George Gentry, who is paralyzed from the waist down, as a result of stepping on a landmine in a hamlet in Vietnam.


Occupation:  Retired two years ago after 25 years of service as a police officer for the City of Irvine.  Prior to serving as a police officer I owned and operated two gas stations specializing in auto repair.
 Location: Born and raised in California I have lived in Irvine for the past 32 years.
 Introduction:  Age 67.  Married for 36 years to my wife Diane.  Two sons, Michael and Matthew.  Hobbies now include swimming and bike riding participating in organized century bike rides.  I have had both knees replaced and bike riding has been a great way to recover. Favorite music...Jimmy Buffet and IZ and anything Hawaiian.  Favorite vacation spot:  Maui and Kauai. 
 Motivation: The Ride Across America isn’t just a cycling event or an awe-inspiring journey across our nation, it’s an expression of my passion for the sport of cycling, health, and fitness. I want to do it because it’s a challenge, because it’s a bucket-list dream, a test of the mind and  body.  If I can do this, I can do anything.  Because it reminds me how lucky I am to be alive and healthy.  It is going to be a mind boggling experience and a test of friendships.
 Military:  I served 3 years in the Army (1964 -1967) with 14 months serving in Viet-Nam.  I was lucky to come back home uninjured.  I am looking forward to riding with and for the Wounded Warriors.  

Occupation:  Retired Geologist and municipal water resource and management leader. 
 Location: Born and raised near the beach in sunny Southern California.
 Introduction: 65 years old, married 41 years to Jeanne. We have a son, Ryan (36) and daughter Jamie (34), daughter-in-law Amy (36) and three grand children, Nathan (6), Chase (4), and Aiden (2). 
 Motivation: Looking forward to achieving a long time "bucket list" item with good friends who share the same interests, values, and love for Jesus. 
 Military:   Served six years in the Air Force reserves during the Vietnam era and appreciate the profound commitment and service of our soldiers.

Occupation: Prior to retirement, I enjoyed 30+ exciting years working in 3 different Public High Schools in the roles of Teacher, Coach, Athletic  Director, and finally Principal. There are not too many things that I would have changed during these years. It was a great "ride".
 Location: Southern California
 Introduction: I am 65 years old and this year my wife (also a retired  teacher) and I will be celebrating 40 years of marriage. We have two adult children who are both married, live close, and have started their own families. When I am not out riding with my buddies, you can usually find me playing with one of my three grand daughters. 
 Motivation: Without a doubt, my 5 pals that join me in this adventure bring out the best in me, just like the Proverb states: "Iron sharpening iron as one man sharpens another". My friendship with these men motivates me to be the best I can be. Right now that means riding my bike across America in support of our Wounded Warriors. Next year will bring  something new.
  Military:  I personally have not served in the Military. However, I am proud to say that both my Biological and Step Fathers served in WWII and my high school team mate and close friend served in the Viet Nam War sadly losing his life in a helicopter crash. I am proud to be an American and honored to dedicate this effort to our Wounded Warriors.

Occupation:  Retired after spending 30 years in the oil industry.
 Location: Born in Long Beach Ca. and have lived my entire life in beautiful Southern Calif. 
 Introduction: I'm 66 years old and married for over 40 years to wife Jennifer. We have a son and daughter and 5 grandchildren. We Americans have been so blessed to live in this great country of ours and to have had men and women who have given their all to preserve our freedom. It is an honor and privilege to be able to give back in a small way to those who have given so much. I thank God for our team and the friendships we have with each other and the health the Lord has blessed us with to be able to undertake such a challenge.  
 Motivation: There is no better way to see a big chunk of the country than from the seat of a bicycle with a bunch of good friends.
 Military:  I served in the USMC and spent a tour in Vietnam '68. My best friend from High School Ray Burbage was also serving in Vietnam with the Army. We were both due to be discharged in the fall of '68 and had long planned on taking a year and driving around the United States after we were discharged. Ray was killed on Feb 21, 1968 near Saigon. I will be riding for Ray 45 years later and for the Wounded Warriors.

Below are other team mates the are supporting us or joining us for a portion of the ride

I’m Dave Arnesen, formerly Pastor of Worship at Voyagers Bible Church in Irvine, CA where the others in this group attend.
With my Viking heritage, I have been blessed/cursed with wanderlust so this trip has me drooling (all true Vikings drool) with anticipation.  I have taken a number of road trips but this will be my first trip across the northern USA.  But the bottom line is that this is for a cause that speaks to all of us as Americans: The Wounded Warrior Project.
When I was a kid, my dad would tell stories about Vikings. These stories made me proud of my heritage (even though they were rather blood thirsty). Even then as a kid, I knew I would want to join the US Navy. However, one Saturday during my high school senior year, there was a knock on our door; it was the Army recruiter. That uniform blinded me to my seafaring ancestors. That June, I was at Fort Ord, CA in basic training through the US Army Reserves. There were no military conflicts then so I was active for only six months. But I knew that if ever I was called on to go into battle, I had the best training. Our company commander had been an Army Ranger during WWII in the unit that had been nailed down in Italy. He was determined that we would be the best prepared. He did a great job. We broke post records in PT, rifle range, etc. I was seriously considering signing up for the Regular Army. I'm glad I didn't because I would undoubtedly never have met Dale, my wife. Dale's father, Colonel Paul Hallberg was a WWII pilot who had some of the most amazing events happen to him in that war. Oh, that Tom Brokaw had known about him.

For this trip my responsibilities are two-fold: to drive along with the bikers with their gear and to perform cooking and bottle-washing.  I decided not to ride a bike because I would be able to keep up with them about as well as I play golf…everybody would be waiting for me.  But, at age 74, I am absolutely able to do everything else we are planning for the trip: eating, sleeping, fellow-shipping  sight-seeing, and calling home.  So, I’m sure you can understand when I say that it’s exciting to be a part of this group.

Occupation:  Retired after 37 years with a major oil company
 Location: Southern and Central California in addition to Houston Texas, currently in Southern California
 Introduction:  I'm 67 years old and married to the same lady for 47 years. I'm an avid bicyclist, riding 450 miles per month. Also I'm a Harley enthusiast. I ride a 1997 Wide Glide. Country music is my music  of choice and Toby Keith is my favorite country performer. Also a serious car buff with a very clean 1972 Datsun 240 Z which I maintain myself.  I'm an avid reader, reading a wide variety of books usually around 30 books per year. I'm teaching myself to play the piano an I also enjoy gardening and working around the house.
 Motivation: to do the ride RAA- There is no better way to see a big chunk of the country than from the seat of a bicycle with a bunch of good friends.
 Military:  My Father in Law was a ball turret gunner on a B 17 Bomber and completed 30 successful bombing missions into Germany from Framlingham, England. My younger brother also served a 13 month tour in VietNam.

No comments: